Travel: Brighton and the (Not-So) Accidental Tourist Experience

DAY 1:

Well, there I was. In Brighton. To be 100% honest, I never thought Brighton was ever going to be one of the towns of the beautiful island that is England that I would’ve liked to visit. Actually, I knew it wasn’t. The sea just really isn’t for me, and Brighton really never felt like it was really for me. But hey, it happened to be the destination, so… Why not? So, there I was. In Brighton, the Queen of Watering Places.

Anyways, let’s say something about my first day in Brighton. Well, there really ain’t that much to say about what I did itself, but there’s something to say about the people I met: a couple and their 18-year-old Japanese stay-in student. What’s really cool about the couple is that one half of it used to be a circus girl. Circus girls are the best. Circuses are the best. They may be not-so-beloved by animal rights activists for their treatment of animals, but things have changed a lot in the past years on that front. And you can’t deny circuses have a certain charm. I don’t know if that has anything to do with those funny, shining, off-the-wall, tight outfits worn by the performers or if it’s all about the shows’ sheer spectacle, but there’s just something about them.

And that’s why I don’t understand why you’d ever want to leave the circus once you’ve joined it. Everyone wants to do it when they’re young, but then you grow up and get a proper job. But somebody’s got to do it or you wouldn’t have the circus… And once you’ve done it, why go back? I cannot fathom that. After leaving the circus life behind, she settled for a new kind of entertainment-related nomadic life: cruise ship entertainment. If we can call that a nomadic life. Can we? Still, it was while working on a cruise ship that she met her husband, a musician. Flash-forward to today, and those two are middle-aged teachers who host kids from all over the world in their house to make some extra money.

The Japanese girl – from Tokyo, how cool! I’ve never been – had been in England for three weeks – she was staying for six – and was all thrilled about her trip to London the following day. I later discovered she bought herself Vivienne Westwood shoes and went to see a musical, paying the hefty fee of 60£ for the latter. Yes, 60£ for a ticket. Yes, 60£. Yes, you read right. Yes, you really read right. Having said that, she wants to go fashion college and considering that, it struck me as odd that she had been in Brighton for weeks and hadn’t visited the Brighton Museum – which has a cool fashion section – yet.

Changing the subject, my hotel room was partially satisfying: it was the biggest room I ever slept in and you could see the whole of Brighton from it, which was pretty cool, but man… The bathroom was a shame. It was a total shame. A dirty shame. Somewhat. The night I arrived, I found the bathtub fairly dirty. Plus, the flush didn’t really work. Then it didn’t really work that well. That wasn’t cool. I don’t remember the name of the hotel, but that’s probably for the better because if I did, I’d write it and give the place some bad press in the process. Even though they’d deserve it.

Note: Shame (2011; criminally overlooked by the Academy, like other great films) and Leaving Las Vegas (1995) were both on Film4 that night. And oh, there was a statue of the title character in Birdman (2014) at a cinema. Lovely!

2 thoughts on “Travel: Brighton and the (Not-So) Accidental Tourist Experience

  1. Pingback: Travel: The Charms of Half a Day in London | The Blog

  2. Pingback: Fashion/Photography: Ellen von Unwerth | The Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

